Lego face

From the Desk Of

AMANDA FOLSON

Velocity 2015

On May 29th, I went to the Velocity conference in Santa Clara. This is probably my fourth or fifth time going to this event, and each year it solidifies its position as one of my favorite conferences to attend.

Something I really enjoy about Velocity is the diverse backgrounds of the attendees. The conference itself is mostly focused on operations and web scaling, but many of the people in attendance are hardware hackers, authors, bloggers, students, and managers. I get to hear stories from people who I wouldn’t otherwise cross paths with, and even though I don’t usually get to attend many sessions, I still manage to learn quite a bit while I’m there.

This year was a bit different for me as I was fortunate enough to sit on a panel discussion about burnout in tech. This not only marks my first time being a speaker at Velocity, but also my first panel discussion. It was a pretty great experience overall.

The panel discussion itself isn’t available online, but I’ll link to it and blog a bit more about the subject once it is. Stick around.

And of course, I always run into people I know. It’s one of the perks of being a professional conference attendee. It was great to catch up with people.

I’ll see you in 2016, Velocity.


<< Previous Next >>